Join Us - Indie Bookstore Day Events - August 29, 2020

Independent Bookstore Day is coming!  

What is Independent Bookstore Day (Indie Day)? 
Independent Bookstore Day is a one-day, national celebration of indie bookstores. While the day is typically celebrated on the last Saturday in April, due to the 2020 COVID-19 pandemic, the day has been postponed to the last Saturday in August.  Whoo hoo!

Why celebrate independent bookstores?
Why not? Indie bookstores are community centers run by passionate book lovers who provide a wealth of support, fun, creativity and passion to customers near and far. 

"In a world of tweets and algorithms and pageless digital downloads, bookstores are not a dying anachronism. They are living, breathing organisms that continue to grow and expand. In fact, there are more of them this year than there were last year. And they are at your service." ~ indiebookstoreday.com

Brown Babies Books is happily at your service and we would like you to join us as we celebrate our first ever Independent Bookstore Day, Saturday, August 29, 2020.  You can access additional information regarding events, raffles, games and more in the coming days through our social media pages and here on our website. 

Check out some of the day's Zoom events for children and YA readers (plus one for the parents) that you can join in on:
*links are embedded in photos

Graphic novel drawing class 

Graphic novel discussion and drawing class with Gene Luen Yan
Saturday, August 29, 2020 at 12:30pm CT | 1:30pm ET

 

Middle grade fun with Renee Watson

Middle Grade Fun with Renee Watson
Saturday, August 29, 2020 at 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET

 

YA Feminist Fantasy Creation

World-Building in YA Feminist Fantasy Fiction
Saturday, August 29, 2020 at 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET

 

Alone Together - Author Panel

Alone Together: Stories of Love, Grief, and Comfort in the Time of COVID-19
Author Panel
Saturday, August 29, 2020 at 5:00pm CT | 6:00pm ET